Beef Patty Pastry Dough

Ingredients:

Dough:

3C AP four

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp jamaican curry powder

2 sticks of unsalted butter, frozen and cut into tabs

3/4C cold water

1 tbsp white vinegar

1 egg, lightly whisked

KEEP EVERYTHING COLD. STICK IT IN THE FREEZER. KEEP EVERYTHING COLD!

  1. In your food processor, pulse together the butter, flour, salt and curry powder
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, water and vinegar
  3. Slowly add the mixture to the food processor
  4. Pulse until the dough forms a ball
  5. Quickly dump the dough onto plastic wrap, wrap it up and stick it in the fridge (1 hr) or freezer (30-45m).

Now here is where it got fun. I had so much energy to transfer that I just took every technique I’ve ever used to try to get that flakey, buttery pastry that I love. I thought I was doing way too much BUT it came out so perfectly. The best I’ve ever made. Flour is your friend. So is the freezer. Do not let your dough get warm. Do not let your dough get soft. Do not let your butter melt. You want to see those big butter chunks. They’re responsible for those flakey layers we melt. When in doubt, stick it in the freezer! 

Prepare your work area with lots of flour. You want it everywhere. I spread flour all over a cookie sheet. One for prep and one for baking the actual beef patty.

I cut my dough into thirds so that I could keep some cool while I worked on the other.

Place one disc on a floured surface and press out into a rectangular shape

Roll it out until you have a long rectangle

Fold like an envelope

Roll it out again

Fold it again into an envelope then fold it on top of itself, so its like a cube?

I know it sounds like a lot but that’s because we’re not following rules anymore. We want flakes! We want flakes!

Press this down and roll it out again

Fold it up the ‘long way’ and roll it up

Keep chilled until it’s time to use it.

Freeze your scraps and any other dough.

Take one ‘roll’ out and roll it out until it’s like 1/4-/1/8 inch thick

Use a round dish to cut your shape

Keep everything floured, freeze discs as your work.

Repeat until you’ve used up your dough.

 

I used this dough to cook Jerk Chicken Patties and Spicy Beef Patties.